Honorary President

We are delighted to have Rodney Newton as the band’s Honorary President. Rodney is a very distinguished musician and composer. He began his professional career in 1967 with the New BBC Orchestra in Bristol, as a timpanist and percussionist, during which time he also wrote music for the BBC World Service. He went on to join the orchestra of Sadler’s Wells Opera, where he stayed for 11 years and saw it become the English National Opera (ENO).

He left ENO to work in films and television as a composer, arranger, musical director, and music consultant. Rodney’s concert works include 13 symphonies, five string quartets, chamber works, vocal music, and many published works for brass and wind bands.

Rodney holds an MA with a distinction from Salford University, is an Honorary Associate of London Film School (where he was a music consultant for 22 years), an Honorary Member of Birmingham Conservatoire, and a Fellow of the Royal Society of Arts. He is also Arranger-in-Residence with the Band of the Coldstream Guards, and his brass band connections include musical associateships with Cory and Fairey bands, and honorary vice-presidency of Hemel Hempstead Band, and a conducting residency with Welwyn Garden City Band. Rodney was also Features Editor of British Bandsman magazine for nine years, and is currently working on a full-time PhD at Salford University.


Paul Garner is perhaps best known for his work as a founder member of Prime Brass. Paul also plays with several other orchestras and bands. His experience as a brass teacher in Cambridgeshire makes him especially valuable to the band, as he continually helps and challenges us to improve the musicality of our playing.


Principal cornet

  • Graham Berridge

Soprano cornet

  • Vacancy

Tutti cornets

  • Kiran Kapur
  • Andy Parsons
  • Jess Bland
  • Patrick Butterfield

Repiano cornet

  • John Parry

2nd cornets

  • Bryan Good
  • Terry Bird
  • David Warren

3rd cornets

  • Sarah Boffey
  • Amy Pearson
  • Olivia Jones

Flugel horn

  • Jenny Marchant

Solo horn

  • Katharine Hutchinson

1st horn

  • Jennie Ingrey

2nd horn

  • Brendan McCormick

1st baritone

  • Matthew Bentham

2nd baritone

  • Sue Bolt

1st trombone

  • Tim Rayner

2nd trombone

  • Tom Yates
  • David Galbraith-Woods

Bass trombone

  • Chris Ashford


  • Ben Underwood
  • Vacancy

E♭ bass

  • Peter Edwards
  • Vacancy

B♭ bass

  • Andrew Bolt
  • Vacancy


  • David Worley

If you’re interested in playing, we’d like to hear from you even if you don’t see a vacancy on your instrument. We can always use more players. See Joining the band for more information.

Officers and committee

The smooth running of the band is all thanks to several band members who serve on the committee. All posts are elected annually.

Chairman and Child Protection

  • David Warren (cornet)

Treasurer and Publicity

  • Tim Rayner (trombone)


  • Jenny Marchant (flugel)


  • Olivia Jones (cornet)

Band manager

  • Sarah Boffey (cornet)

Committee Member

  • Brendan McCormick (tenor horn)

In addition, Tom Yates (trombone) serves as Deputy Conductor. Although this isn’t a committee post, it’s no less important. The Deputy Conductor ensures the smooth conduct of rehearsals in the Conductor’s absence.